PREMIERE: Lane 8's Video for "Ghost" featuring Patrick Baker

The electronicist explores feelings of unrequited love. Yes, that old chestnut.

|
May 12 2015, 5:26pm

Once upon a time Lane 8—a.k.a Daniel Goldstein—made garage rock. Sometimes he made it with his sister. They were just kids. Then he got into creating hip-hop beats. Then he moved into trance and progressive house. Some time in 2012 Lane 8 really found his groove and with his sound flitting between pulsing electronica—like "Diamonds" featuring Solomon Grey (600k plays on Soundcloud and climbing)—and a woozier kind of glitch-pop as on his most recent track "Ghost."

Premiering above is the video for said track. Full of light flares and longing looks, and some pretty sweet motorcycles, the storyline is your classic case of girl chooses boy and then chooses a different boy. That's gotta suck.

Lane 8 had this to say: "To me, 'Ghost' is a song about unreturned love, and the feeling of invisibility that can go along with it. We wanted that emotional landscape to be explored in the video and really loved [filmmaker] DEMS' approach. I feel they created something aesthetically rich and textured, while also telling an interesting and relatable story.”

Lane 8 Tour Dates

Sat. May 16 - Helsinki, FI @ LE BONK

Fri. June 12-Sat. June 13 - Toronto, ON @ Bestival

Fri. June 12-Sun. June 14 - Chicago, IL @ Spring Awakening 2015

Fri. June 19-Sun. June 21 - Dufur, OR @ WTF?! What The Festival

Sun. June 28 - Novalja, HR @ Hideout Festival 2015

Fri. July 17-Sun. July 19 - Morrison, CO @ Global Dance Festival

Fri. July 17-Sun. July 19 - Piercy, CA @ Northern Nights Music Festival

Fri. Aug. 14-Sat. Aug. 15 - Montreal, QC @ Ilesoniq Festival

Lane 8's album, Rise, is out on 7.17 via Anjunadeep.