Quantcast
Premieres

Close Your Eyes for Three Minutes and Listen to Fazerdaze's "Take It Slow"

This is the sonic equivalent to cut grass and wearing shorts and cracking open a cold one with the boys.

Noisey Staff

Noisey Staff

Ah, yes, there's nothing quite like the interplay of a minimal bass line and a reverb-heavy guitar over some wistful vocals to get you in the mood for summer. Fortunately, in tandem with the temperature rising, New Zealand's Fazerdaze (AKA& Amelia Murray) are premiering their new video for "Take It Slow" with us below, which exists at the summit of all those qualities and is basically the sonic equivalent to cut grass and wearing shorts and cracking open a cold one with the boys. All that good stuff.

Taken from their debut album Morningside – named after the New Zealand suburb where Murray "finally feels at home" – "Take It Slow" falls in line with the likes of early Best Coast or a more stripped back Diiv. Though it may not dramatically reinvent the dreampop form of 2012, it's a poignant note to self, setting a reminder not to rush through life, that we would all do well to take on board.

Close your eyes for three minutes (metaphorically speaking, that is – you don't want to miss the video in all its summer afternoon glory) and soak in the message above.

Morningside is out 5 May on Flying Nun and if you'll be in Europe and the UK, you can catch Fazerdaze on one of their many tour dates below:

Fri 28 Apr - Leicester, UK - Handmade Festival
Sat 29 Apr - Leeds, UK - Live At Leeds
Sun 30 Apr - Manchester, UK - Sounds From The Other City
Mon 01 May - Glasgow, UK - The Hug & Pint
Wed 03 May - Bristol, UK - LouisianaThu 04 May - London, UK - Thousand Island
Fri 05 May - Bournemouth, UK - The Anvil
Sat 06 May - London, UK - Shacklewell Arms
Mon 08 May - London, UK - Rough Trade East
Tue 09 May - London, UK - Bush Hall
Thu 11 May - Amsterdam, NL - Sugar Factory
Fri 12 May - Gent, BE - DOK
Sun 14 May - Copenhagen, DK - Loppen
Wed 17 May - Bedford, UK - Esquires
Thu 18 May - Brighton, UK - The Great Escape
Fri 19 May - Hamburg - Molotow Bar
Sat 20 May - Cologne - Gebaude 9
Mon 22 May - Paris, FR - La Maroquinerie
Fri 26 May - Amsterdam, NL - London Calling Festival
Sat 27 May - Neustrelitz, DE - Immergut Festival

Follow Noisey on Twitter.