Frankie Cosmos Returns with "Jesse" and Announces Third LP, 'Vessel'

Greta Kline's indie four-piece has signed to Sub Pop.

Jan 12 2018, 9:32am

This article originally appeared on Noisey US.

Frankie Cosmos, the vehicle for the indie abstractions of prolific songwriter Greta Kline, is back. “Jesse,” released this morning, is the first single from the band’s third LP – and first for Sub Pop – Vessel. The song has Kline wandering through apathy, thinking about the things she could’ve done if she’d had the energy or will, poking at her subconscious. It’s all very recognizably Kline’s: delicate, smart, hiding fear underneath a hummable chorus. It also comes with a stop-motion video made by Ariel Noltimier Strauss, which you can watch at the top of the page.

Vessel came together quickly. The band – Kline, bassist David Maine, keyboardist Lauren Martin, and drummer Luke Pyenson – travelled to Binghamton, New York to lay down the record’s foundations with Hunter Davidsohn, who produced their first two LPs, Zentropy and Next Thing. They wrapped those sessions up in three days, recording direct-to-tape instead of obsessively overdubbing. It was finished off in Brooklyn with Carlos Hernandez and Julian Fader of Ava Luna.

Vessel is out March 30.

Follow Alex Robert Ross on Twitter.