New Music

Mutilation Rites Will "Contaminate" You with the Best of the Best of Hatred

By Fred Pessaro

0

Over the years, the term Brooklyn and "black metal" have become more and more of a dirty word when used together, as the nihilistic and hateful medium has been co-opted by those who aren't entrenched in the scene or the genre. To me, "Brooklyn" and "black metal" together should mean smart, with a deep understanding of the genre and a sophisticated flirtation with other styles. Basically, like Brooklyn, a melting pot of different influences distilled into the best of the genre.

Mutilation Rites (mem Ruine, profiled here) are emblematic of what Brooklyn black metal can be, mixing genres but with a one-track mind, spewing hate and hellfire. Their new song "Contaminate" does just that. Stream "Contaminate" from their forthcoming Harbinger LP below and look for it on July via Prosthetic. Order yours now.

Look for Mutilation Rites & Hexer to hit the road in July, dates are below. 

MRItes tour

MUTILATION RITES & HEXER on TOUR

Friday July 11 NYC  Paperbox w/ The Mentors
Saturday July 12  Clifton NJ Clash Bar
Sunday July 13  Baltimore, MD   Metro
Monday July 14 Washington D.C. The Lab w/ Ilsa
Tuesday July 15  Richmond, VA Strange Matter
Wednesday July 16  Pittsburgh, PA The Shop
Thursday July 17  Milwaukee, WI Franks Power Plant w/ Alaraune
Saturday July 19 Gilead Media Fest
Monday July 21 Minneapolis, MN  Triple Rock w/ Ash Borer and Hell
Tuesday July 22  Iowa City, IA   Public Space One w/ Aseethe
Wednesday July 23 Omaha, NE  West Wing House  
Thursday July 24 Lawrence, KS  Bottleneck
Friday July 25  Chicago, IL Cobra Lounge w/ Primitive Man
Saturday July 26 Cincinatti, OH Southgate House
Sunday July 27  Harrisonburg, VA Blue Nile w/ Earthling

 

Comments